Back to Newsletter

Grand News #November 2012

 

Storytellers of Sweden - for Readers Worldwide

November is the month of literature in the Swedish Ministry of Foreign affair’s calendar. The whole month has been filled with projects around the world to promote Sweden's export of literature. The grand finale will take place on Thursday 22 November at the Press Centre at Rosenbad, with a number of Swedish authors in attendance. The entire event will be broadcasted live on the government’s website, making an opportunity for the attending authors, publishers and readers around the globe to discuss Swedish literature in the world's largest book club. Via Twitter, readers will be able to ask questions of the participants in Stockholm by using the hashtag #storytellers.

 

Five of Grand Agency’s authors will participate, as will a great number of the best Swedish writers. Some of them you may already know, others might be new to you. Lena Stjernström will lead one of the sessions as well participate in another discussion. This will be an interesting day for everyone interested in Swedish literature.

 

You’ll find the links to the webcast together with the program at: http://www.government.se/sb/d/16601/a/202714

 

Program

Live webcast from the Press Conference Centre at Rosenbad, Stockholm.

 

10.00 Welcome by host/conferencier

Opening speech: Ewa Björling, Minister for Trade


Intro to the Success Story, Swedish Literature Worldwide: A Word from the Swedish Publisher's Association, Kristina Ahlinder, Managing Director

 

10.30 Life & Relations from a Nordic Perspective

Moderator: Håkan Bravinger, publisher at Norstedts and writer

 

Writers' presentations and readings

  • P O Enquist, his many novels have brought him international fame and readers in 30 countries. The Royal Physician's Visit became an international breakthrough and was awarded the August Prize in 1999. He is one of the most performed Scandinavian playwrights with about 200 productions around the world including a critical success on Broadway.

  • Maj Gull Axelsson, is one of Sweden's most successful writers, August Prize Winner, and with titles in more than 20 languages, since The April Witch in 1997.

  • Tomas Bannerhed, winner of the August Prize for Best Swedish Novel 2011 with The Ravens.

  • Håkan Bravinger's first novel has been published in French (Mon Chere Frère), German, Polish, Norwegian and Danish. International contacts have also been a part of his work as a publisher and International Secretary of the Writers' Union.

 

11.30 Witchcraft & Magic Events - for Readers Young at Heart

Moderator: Lena Stjernström, Grand Agency, CEO, Managing Director

 

Intro: Good Old Friends and New Buddies in Children's Literature

 

Writers' presentations and readings

  • Ulf Nilsson, member of The Swedish Academy for Children's Books. In his rich production, such as in the widely spread Goodbye, Mr Muffin, Ulf Nilsson often uses animals with human features as main characters. Many of his stories have also found other means of expression, such as: opera, film, radio, children´s theatre and television.

  • Sara Bergmark Elfgren & Mats Strandberg, have devoted followers of the supernatural drama in The Engelsfors Trilogy, with rights sold to 25 countries, starting with The Circle in 2011.

  • Mårten Sandén, is a writer with a degree in psychology. His most recent book, A House Without Mirrors, is a classic mystery tale in the vein of C.S. Lewis and Maria Gripe.

 

12.00 Film interview with Lena Adelsohn Liljeroth, Minister for Culture

 

12.15 Swedish Noir & Prime Crime

Moderator: Joakim Lind, Cloudberry Communications

 

Intro: The Millenium Effect on International Media

 

Writers' presentations and readings, panel discussion

  • Camilla Läckberg, international bestseller hitting the top lists with crime novels as The Stonecutter and The Stranger. Her stories have also been adapted into TV-series.

  • Hans Rosenfeldt and Michael Hjorth. Dark Secrets was their first bestseller in Germany, and has been followed by new titles. Hans Rosenfeldt is also well known as a popular TV and radio anchor.

  • Cilla and Rolf Börjlind, are Sweden's most praised script writers for crime and thrillers, and now on the book market with Spring Tide.

 

13.15 Swedish Literature and the Promotion Calendar, Ewa Björling, Minister for Trade

 

13.30 Life & Relations from a Nordic Perspective

Moderator: Gunnar Ardelius, Writer's Union, president and writer

 

Writers' presentations and readings

  • Sigrid Combüchen, has been awarded several literary prizes and got an international audience with a novel about the English poet Lord Byron. Her books have been translated into fourteen languages. Her latest novel, Spill, won the August prize in 2010.

  • Jenny Jägerfeld is a pscychologist and writer of two novels. Her teenage novel Here I Lie, Bleeding on the Floor won the August Prize in 2010. Lately she has been involved in collective story telling, and in an anthology of erotic short stories.

  • Therese Bohman, her first novel Drowned (2010), about attraction, silence and betrayal, has already reached international readers.

  • Gunnar Ardelius' first novel for young adults I Need You More Than I Love You and I Love You To Bits has been translated into many languages including English, French and German. He is also writing for adults.

 

14.30 About Worlds of Strindberg - the Magnificient 100 year Book

A book with 500 unique photos from Strindberg´s time & places and the stories behind. Written and edited by Björn Meidal, professor and one of the world's most highly qualified Strindberg scholars and Bengt Wanselius, photographer, August Prize Winner

 

15.00 A film about the Life and Work of Swedish Poet Tomas Tranströmer

Comments and Readings

 

15.30 Agencies in Action

Moderator: Karl Berglund, PhD Stud, Section for Sociology of Literature, Uppsala University

 

Intro: A new and growing business

 

Panel discussion:

  • Linda Altrov Berg, Manager, Norstedts Agency
  • Gustaf Bonde, Agent, Bonniers Agency
  • Anna Frankl, Agent, Nordin Agency
  • Lena Stjernström, Grand Agency, CEO, Managing Director

 

16.00 Swedish Noir & Prime Crime

Moderator: Alexandra Borg, PhD and researcher at Bonnier´s Publishers

 

Intro: The Swedish Crime Fiction Phenomenon

 

Panel discussion, writers' presentations and readings

  • Alexander and Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril, are writing successful stories under the pseudonym Lars Kepler. The film version of The Hypnotist, directed by Lasse Hallström, is now showing on the cinemas.

  • Mons Kallentoft, got a reputation as one of Sweden's most interesting newer writers. In the crime genre he has published several books about the female police inspector Malin Fors, the latest with the title Water Angels.

  • Jan Arnald, is writing under the pseudonym Arne Dahl, known for bestselling and critically acclaimed crime stories translated into 26 languages.

  • Viveca Sten, her books about Sandhamn have sold more than one million copies in Sweden alone and are translated into more than 12 languages. Her books have been dramatized for television and shown in the Nordic countries.

 

17.00 From Book to Film to Going There

How Great Stories Inspire Film Makers and Attract Visitors to Sweden

 

Panel discussion

Alexander and Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril (pseudonym: Lars Kepler) together with Publisher Jonas Axelsson at Bonnier´s, talk about how The Hypnotist was made into a film, by the acclaimed director Lasse Hallström. This thriller is Sweden's 2012 Oscar entry.

 

Sweden Beyond the Fiction - VisitSweden

 

 

17.30 Film Clips & Interviews (Mingle Break)

 

18.00-20.00 Replay from morning sessions

Writers´ presentations and readings

Life & Relations from a Nordic Perspective
Swedish Noir & Prime Crime
Witchcraft & Magic Events - for Readers Young at Heart

 

_____ _____ _____ _____

 

 

Spread the Word!

Join Grand Agency at Facebook for more news and updates.