1945. Two young men go down a mine, but only one of them will ever see the light of day again. The man who is about to die harbors a devastating secret.

In the present day, a dead infant is found, a little girl only one month old that wears a silver necklace around her neck. Detective Inspector Kristoffer Bark is assigned to lead the investigation together with his team of reassigned police officers. And when Bark is the first police officer to respond to an emergency call, he meets a man in his nineties that has taken a group of children hostage. He is armed with a rifle, and he is not afraid to use it.

Anna Jansson is back with a sharp crime novel where loyalty comes into focus and where several lives are in danger. May Eternity Forgive is the fifth instalment in the Kristoffer Bark series and takes place in Bergslagen, an area of Sweden where the old silver mines are a reminder of bygone times and lost knowledge.


Denmark: People’s
Estonia: Eesti Raamat
Finland: Gummerus
Germany: Blanvalet
Sweden: Norstedts


Order reading material